Tadeusz Szeligowski Poznan Philharmonic

announces an audition for the double bass section,

which will be held on the 20th of November (Tuesday) 2018 from 1:15 p.m.

in the chamber hall in Poznan Philharmonics’ offices located at 81 Św. Marcin street, Poznan


Audition programme – double bass:

1. One of the two concertos:

  • Karl Ditters von Dittersdorf – Concerto in E major, 1st movement (with cadenza)
  • Johann Baptist Vanhal – Concerto in D major, 1st movement (with cadenza)


2. A selected virtuoso piece (duration 8-10 minutes)

3. Excerpts of orchestral parts (below you can find the scores; the chosen passages are put in brackets; the fingering and bowing are only auxiliary):

  • Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No. 5 in c minor, Op. 67 – 2nd and 3rd movement
  • Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No. 9 in d minor, Op. 125 – 4th movement
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Symphony No. 40 in g minor, KV 550 – 1st movement
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Overture to “The Marriage of Figaro”
  • Carl Maria von Weber, Overture to “Oberon”
  • Johannes Brahms, Symphony No. 2 in D major, 4th movement
  • Richard Strauss, tone poem “A Hero’s Life”


Scores of the orchestral parts


Please send the audition entry forms, along with the information whether the candidate comes with his own accompanist, till the 13th of November (Tuesday) 2018, to the following address:

Magdalena Śmieszała
Filharmonia Poznańska
ul. Św. Marcin 81
61-808 Poznań

or an electronic version to:

with an annotation: “audition – double bass section”


Poznan Philharmonic ensures a piano accompanist, with whom it will be possible to rehearse before noon on the day of the audition.



Currently, the Poznan Philharmonic is not holding any tenders.